2017 ACCP Recognition Award Winners

 ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award


Nick Holford, MBChB, FRACP, FAAPS, FISoP - Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, Univ of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

The Distinguished Investigator Award is given annually and is intended to recognize superior scientific expertise and accomplishments by a senior investigator, usually involving a distinct area of research in basic or clinical pharmacology, for which the individual is internationally known. 

Dr. Holford has dedicated his career to advancing the science of clinical pharmacology. Some of his key contributions include the development of theory-based approaches such as allometric scaling, greatly aiding pediatric dosing and drug development, clinical trial simulation, disease progression modeling and the development of web-based dosing tools. He is viewed as a key thought leader in the field of clinical pharmacology and pharmacometrics and is a very worthy recipient of the 2017 ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award.

 ACCP Honorary Fellowship Award

Angela DM Kashuba, BScPhm, PharmD, DABCP - John A. and Deborah S. McNeill Jr. Distinguished Professor of Pharmacy; Chair, Div of Pharmacotherapy & Experimental Therapeutics, Eshelman School of Pharmacy; Adjunct Professor of Medicine, Depart of Infectious Diseases, Univ of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The Honorary Fellowship Award is given annually to a Non-member of the College and is meant to recognize primary activities within the immediate domain of clinical pharmacology.  The award recognizes overall contributions to the field, rather than any particular scientific work, by a senior investigator or authority having a national or international reputation in the scientific, public service, legislative, governmental or other area of endeavor impacting the field. 

Dr. Kashuba has authored over 200 manuscripts and has received over $25 million in research funding. She leads a research group focused on optimizing antiretroviral pharmacology in the treatment, prevention and eradication of HIV infection. She is currently a member of the Advisory Committee for the Office of Research on Women's Health at the National Inst of Health, making her an outstanding recipient of the 2017 ACCP Honorary Fellowship Award.  

 Nathaniel T. Kwit Memorial Distinguished Service Award
    Susan K. McCune, MD – Director, Office of Pediatric Therapeutics, Office of the Commissioner, US Food & Drug Administration

The Nathaniel T. Kwit Memorial Distinguished Service Award is given in memory of the late Nathaniel T. Kwit, MD, FCP, a founding Fellow of ACCP, who served as a Regent for 5 years and as Treasurer for 20 years.  The primary intent of this award is to recognize accomplishments of a general nature which benefit the field of clinical pharmacology.  These may be in the area of teaching, administration, service with ACCP or long-term and wide-ranging scientific studies having practical importance and other service-related functions.  It is differentiated from the Distinguished Investigator Award in that it is not intended to recognize any distinct area of scientific investigation, but rather an overall contribution to the field.  

Dr. McCune has directed a diverse number of initiatives that have promoted innovation in clinical trial design and regulatory science, as well as cross-disciplinary and cross-sector collaboration. She led the CDER Critical Path Innovation Meetings, served as the Director of the Translational Medicine Team in the Office of Translational Sciences in CDER, was the Co-director of the CDER Biomarker Qualification Program and was instrumental in the launch of the International Neonatal Consortium. Currently, she is continuing to encourage innovative and collaborative strategies in the pediatric arena as the Director of the Office of Pediatric Therapeutics at the US FDA. Her commitment to fostering innovation and collaboration make her an outstanding recipient of the 2017 Nathaniel T. Kwit Distinguished Service Award. 

Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award 

Bernd Meibohm, PhD, FCP, FAAPS - Professor & Associate Dean, Univ of Tennessee Health Science Ctr, Coll of Pharmacy

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award is given to an awardee who demonstrates exemplary promotion of clinical pharmacology, with emphasis on training/guidance of junior scientists and/or colleagues.  

Dr. Meibohm has served as a mentor for numerous postdoctoral fellows, graduate and undergraduate students and visiting scientists. Most importantly, the achievements of the mentees under his guidance are impressive, including not only scientific publications and presentations, but also active involvement and leadership in professional organizations. These contributions and more make Dr. Meibohm a very well-deserving recipient of the 2017 Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award.

 McKeen Cattell Memorial Award

Huanian Zhang, BS - Licensed Pharmacist, Wuhan Children's Hosp, China

The McKeen Cattell Memorial Award is made in memory of the late McKeen Cattell, MD, PhD, FCP, the first editor of The Journal of Clinical Pharmacology (JCP) and co-founder of ACCP.  This award is made annually, recognizing an outstanding research paper published in the JCP during the preceding year.  The award is typically presented to the first author of the paper.  

This year’s award-winning journal article is: “Pharmacokinetic Characteristics and Clinical Outcomes of Vancomycin in Young Children With Various Degrees of Renal Function” Authors: Huanian Zhang, BS, Yang Wang, BS, Ping Gao, MS, Jiasheng Hu, MS, Yujun Chen, MS, Long Zhang, MD, Xiantao Shen, MS,  Hua Xu, BS and Qiong Xu, MS.

Published in The Journal of Clinical Pharmacology. Volume 56, Issue 6, pages 740 - 748, December, 2015.